FOOTBALL: Ryad Mahrez Named PFA Player Of The Year 2015/2016

Leicester City’s Algerian winger Ryad Mahrez has been named the PFA player of the year 2015/2016.

Ryad Mahrez speaking after receiving the award last night
Ryad Mahrez speaking after receiving the award last night

This comes after a series of impressive performances in which he has scored 17 goals and 11 assists in 34 games this season to lead Leicester city to the top of the Premier League table and on the verge of winning the Premier League title.The award was voted for by the Algeria international’s fellow professionals.Tottenham midfielder Dele Alli, 20, was named PFA Young Player of the Year, while Manchester City forward Izzy Christiansen won the Women’s Player of the Year award.Sunderland striker Beth Mead, 20, was named Women’s Young Player of the Year.

ALSO READ: Premier League And F.A Cup Weekend Round-up

Speaking at the awards after he was handed the trophy,he said “All the credit is for them, seriously,’ Mahrez said as he dedicated his success to his Leicester team-mates.”And for my manager and the staff. Without them I wouldn’t receive this award and I wouldn’t score. It’s the team spirit, and I want to dedicate it to them.I’m very grateful to receive this award, it’s a pleasure. It’s extra special because if the players vote for me it’s because they’ve seen I’ve been great this year so I’m happy.But it’s more team things. Without my team-mates I wouldn’t get this award”. Delle Alli wasn’t there to receive his award but sent a video message saying “Thank you Ossie, the Tottenham legend for receiving this award for me,” Alli said in a video message screened at the awards.Sorry I can’t be there tonight but we have a big game tomorrow”.

Giggs, 42, follows in the footsteps of former United greats Sir Alex Ferguson, Sir Matt Busby and Sir Bobby Charlton in picking up the PFA merit award for his contributions to football.He said “When you win each award you look down the trophy and you see the players who have won it before and you realise what a great accolade it is.This is the same. I’ve been here on the nights when people have won it and it’s legends of the game.I’m fortunate to win it and I’ll enjoy it.”

Previous ArticleNext Article
Chukwuyem Ogala is a content writer at Edliner. A multifaceted personality with a degree in Economics. He has a strong passion for Rap music and sports. A big fan of the NBA, likes Rafael Nadal and has a crush on Serena Williams. Chuks just strives to be better and wants to be heard globally.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *