FOOTBALL: PFA Announces Premier League Team Of The Year

The Premier League has announced it’s team of the year for the season and its no surprise the top two teams in the League dominate the list.

Premier League team of the 2015/16 season
Premier League team of the 2015/16 season

The PFA tweeted their XI on Thursday afternoon with Ozil’s name left out at the expense of Dimitri Payet, N’Golo Kante, Dele Alli and Riyad Mahrez in the four-man midfield.It was no surprise to see Leicester city’s Jamie Vardy and Tottenham’s Harry Kane lead the attack as they’ve both had spectacular seasons,leading the scoring chart and guiding their teams to first and second positions respectively so far.The central midfield pairing of Dele Alli and N’golo Kante are also from Leicester city and Tottenham as Kante has dominated the midfield in the league and lead in the number of tackles won so far.Dele Alli has also improved vastly in the league from last season and has gone on to be a key member of their squad.In left side of midfield is Dimitri Payet of West Ham who joined from Marseille in the summer and has gone on to have a spectacular season while Ryad Mahrez of Leicester city is named on the right side of midfield as he has single-handedly carried Leicester city most times in the league and has been influencial in their spectacular season.

ALSO READ: 7 Interesting Facts About John Mikel Obi

Hector Bellerin of Arsenal comes in at right back after sealing the spot due to the injury to Debuchy and has continued to impress.Tottenham’s Alderwiereld has been a consistent rock at the back for Tottenham,Leicester city’s captain Wes Morgan is also at centre defence while Tottenham’s Danny Rose slots in at left back.Rounding up the list is Manchester United’s David De Gea who has been consistent between the sticks for Manchester United and the reason they are still in the race for a spot in the top four.

In summary, Tottenham and Leicester city both present four players each while West Ham,Arsenal and Manchester United prsent one player each. The team was due to be announced as standard at the PFA awards on Sunday, but the unveiling was brought forward with the line-up leaked on Twitter.

Previous ArticleNext Article
Chukwuyem Ogala is a content writer at Edliner. A multifaceted personality with a degree in Economics. He has a strong passion for Rap music and sports. A big fan of the NBA, likes Rafael Nadal and has a crush on Serena Williams. Chuks just strives to be better and wants to be heard globally.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *