Final 3: Ronaldo, Bale, Griezmann To Contest For UEFA Best Player Award

UEFA has announced the final three contenders for the Player of the Year award 2015/16.

Ronaldo, Bale and Griezmann will vie for the UEFA Best player award.
Ronaldo, Bale and Griezmann will vie for the UEFA Best player award.

The Real Madrid pair of Gareth Bale and Cristiano Ronaldo, and Atlético Madrid’s Antoine Griezmann, are the final three nominees for the 2015/16 UEFA Best Player in Europe Award.

“As in previous years, journalists from each of UEFA’s 55 member associations provided an initial list of their five best-ranked players, with the first receiving five points, the second four, and so on. The ten players with the most points advanced to a second round of voting, which has determined the three finalists named today.

ALSO READ: Etebo Scores Four As Nigeria Stun Japan 5-4 In Olympics Opener

The jury will cast their votes for the winner during the 2016/17 UEFA Champions League group stage draw in Monaco on Thursday 25 August. Past editions have been won by Lionel Messi (2011, 2015), Andrés Iniesta (2012), Franck Ribéry (2013) and Ronaldo (2014).

Other positions
4 Luis Suárez (Barcelona & Uruguay) – 29 points
5 Lionel Messi (Barcelona & Argentina) – 25
6 Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus & Italy) – 19
7 Pepe (Real Madrid & Portugal) – 9
8 Manuel Neuer (Bayern München & Germany) – 6
9 Toni Kroos (Real Madrid & Germany) – 5
10 Thomas Müller (Bayern München & Germany) – 2″

Previous ArticleNext Article
Chukwuyem Ogala is a content writer at Edliner. A multifaceted personality with a degree in Economics. He has a strong passion for Rap music and sports. A big fan of the NBA, likes Rafael Nadal and has a crush on Serena Williams. Chuks just strives to be better and wants to be heard globally.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *