FIFA Bans Atletico Madrid, Real Madrid From Buying New Players Until 2018


Following the rejection of the appeal by FIFA, Real Madrid and Atletico Madrid, have been banned from registering new players for the next two transfer windows.
Both clubs were charged with violating FIFA’s regulations, in relation to the transfer and protection of minors.

Both La Liga clubs, are now to face same penalty as Barcelona, who were found guilty in 2014.

ALSO READ: 7 Highest Goal Scorers In The History Of Manchester Derby
“The FIFA Appeal Committee has decided to reject the appeals lodged by Spanish clubs Atlético de Madrid and Real Madrid and to confirm in their entirety the decisions rendered by the FIFA Disciplinary Committee in the respective cases relating to the protection of minors,” the body’s statement said.

“Both clubs are to serve a transfer ban that prevents them from registering any players at national and international level for the next two complete and consecutive registration periods for breaching articles 5, 9, 19 and 19bis as well as annexes 2 and 3 of the Regulations on the Status and Transfer of Players (the “Regulations”).

“The transfer ban applies to each club as a whole – with the exception of the women’s, futsal and beach soccer teams – and does not prevent the release of players.

“Additionally, Atlético de Madrid and Real Madrid have been fined CHF 900,000 and CHF 360,000 respectively, while both clubs have been issued with a reprimand and a warning and given 90 days in which to regularise the situation of all minor players concerned.
“The grounds of the decisions taken by the FIFA Appeal Committee were communicated to the parties concerned today.”

Previous ArticleNext Article
Temitope Delano


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *