Biafra Is Not Limited To Igbo-speaking People – IPOB


The Indigenous People of Biafra (IPOB) in a statement by the spokepersons of the group, Emma Nmezu and Dr. Clifford Chukwuemeka Iroanya have stated that Biafraland is not only the areas inhabited by the Igbo-speaking people of the country.

They claimed that Biafra spans from Itsekiriland on the western boundary with Oduduwa to Bakassi on the eastern boundary with the Cameroons, and also stretches from Idoma and Igala land on the northern boundary with Northern Nigeria to the Bight of Biafra which is South of the island of Bonny.

They pointed out that in the present-day Nigeria, Biafra consists of Abia, Akwa Ibom, Anambra, Bayelsa, Cross River, Delta, Ebonyi, Enugu, Imo, and Rivers states as well as Igbanke in Edo State, Igala in Kogi State, and Idoma in Benue State.

It said the above revelation showed that Biafra is not populated by the Igbo-speaking people, adding that the last head of state and commander-in-chief of Biafra was not from the Igbo-speaking area of Biafraland.

ALSO READ: 6 Popular Places To Be Informed In Nigeria

The spokespersons said, “During the war of genocide levied on Biafra by Nigeria and Britain, there were brave Biafran soldiers, field commanders, scientists, civil servants, technocrats, musicians/artists, and astute journalists/broadcasters, who were not from Igbo-speaking areas of Biafraland”.

“Biafra is a nation where different languages are spoken but irrespective of the varying languages, the people have a common value system, four market days, and a unique traditional clothing (two-piece wrapper) for every Biafran woman”.

“It is instructive to note that Igbo is just one of the languages in Biafraland. Even the Igbo language has different dialects as someone travels from one community to the other or from one state to another state”.

“The Indigenous People of Biafra (IPOB) is not for only Igbo-speaking people and will never be for only Igbo-speaking people”.



Previous ArticleNext Article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *